unnamed-4.jpg
IMG_1234.JPG

My name is Erin Peterson and I am a 28-year-old fitness professional and full-time graduate student. I have been in the fitness industry for the past 12 years holding various positions such as a personal trainer, Zumba teacher, group exercise instructor and coach at Orange Theory Fitness. I started my own fitness company, FemTribe which was very successfully for four years. Additionally, I am a graduate student at Regis University working towards my Master of Arts in Clinical Mental Health Counseling. As an undergraduate, I went to the University of Iowa where I received my Bachelor of Fine Arts in Dance. 

After graduating, I moved to Denver, Colorado where I landed a job with a professional dance company. While I was originally only going to spend one year dancing in Denver and then move on to Chicago or New York, I fell in love with the state. Colorado is AMAZING! I love being so close to the mountains, the people are great, there are dogs everywhere, there is always something cool to do or try... seriously, Denver is the best. So I stayed and ended up meeting a local and marrying him. 

Over the next four years as a professional dancer, I became intolerably sick. I had been battling an eating disorder for nearly 12 years and my body couldn't take it anymore. After admitting myself to a treatment facility located here in Denver, I am happy to say that I have had two feet firmly in recovery for the past two years. It is an amazing thing! Unfortunately, I did have to stop dancing but I have come to peace with my decision. I love dancing, but do not love the toxicity of the professional dancing world. 

A few months after moving to Denver and needing supplemental income, I got a job as a server/bartender at a catering company. It was during my first-ever shift that I met my (to-be) husband. We dated for 3.5 years and then got married at the end of August in 2016. We love each other so much, and I can honestly say that marriage is nothing like I had ever dreamed. It is WAY better! We have learned so much about each other, and continue to grow in our understanding and love of each other, daily. It is absolutely amazing. 

We are both extremely open minded, outgoing, adventurous, athletic and we love our three fur babies so much. We have one 12-year-old lab named Yogi Berra (after the baseball player) and two kitties (Mr. Kitty and Squirrel). 

Brendan is 29-years-old and grew up in Colorado Springs, CO. He received his degree in Resort Management and Hospitality from Metro State University located in downtown Denver. After being in the hospitality industry for nearly 10 years and doing things such as opening a restaurant in Larimer Square, managing a boutique hotel, and managing a catering company, he decided to step out of the hospitality industry in order to have more normal hours. He is currently in sales, working for Quench USA as the Colorado representative for point-of-use water filtration systems for commercial and personal use. 

Brendan is amazing. He is one of the kindest, funniest, most genuine, ballsiest, bravest, open-minded, tough but soft, silly and adventurous human that I know. We both are!... which is why the next chapter in our lives (adventure) together is to travel the world. 

IMG_5832.JPG
IMG_6723.jpg

 

I grew up in Knoxville, TN with a very athletic family. On weekends we were constantly driving up in the Great Smokey Mountains National Park (only a short 45 minute drive) to go hiking, rock climbing and camping. My family also owned a boat and couple of jet skis, so during the summer months, water sports were very popular, especially in that southern Tennessee humidity! I loved wake boarding and water skiing, and would spend all summer perfecting my techniques.

My mother is really into horses, so she made my sister and I take equestrian lessons from the time I was born. While, I ended up not particularly liking the sport as much as some others, my younger sister still rides and competes to this day, and has become an extremely talented and accomplished equestrian rider.

In addition to my active family, I also played about every sport while in school. I absolutely loved soccer and basketball, but also played volleyball and ran track. All the while, I was still dancing;  studying ballet, modern, horton, and jazz. In high school, it became time to choose which sport to devote my time to, and without hesitation, I knew it was dance.

Throughout high school, I dedicated nearly every waking moment to dance. I was in a pre-professional performing company where we performed a variety of styles including classical and contemporary ballet, modern, jazz, and contemporary. After graduating high school, I attended the University of Iowa on scholarship. While there, I received my BFA in Dance with high honors and distinction.

It was during my sophomore year of college when I received my Zumba license and started teaching twice a week at the University Rec Center. While there, my fitness manager at the time told me that I should consider personal training. So with that, I studied up and became an AFAA licensed trainer.

Three days after graduating from Iowa, I packed up and moved across the country to Denver, CO where I had signed a contract with my first professional dance company: Kim Robards Dance. I spent a year there and then started dancing for Hannah Kahn Dance and Apex Jazz Dance. In order to supplement my dance career, I got a job as a personal trainer at 24 Hour Fitness and started teaching Zumba at Denver University a couple times a week.

Fast forward, five years later and my passion for fitness and women's health is still burning in my heart. I started graduate school at Regis University working towards my Master of Arts in Counseling where I am a counselor in training, studying to be a clinical mental health counselor (CMHC) and a licensed professional counselor (LPC).